如果我们可以通过单一方法来治疗甚至治愈疾病,该有多好?基因治疗的愿景,是可以纠正疾病的潜在遗传原因。尽管基因疗法具有令人兴奋的潜力,但由于安全性和有效性方面的问题,以及早期临床试验的失败强调需要进一步深入了解基因疗法的基础科学。欢迎了解 NanoTemper 是如何帮助研究人员开发更安全,更有效的基因疗法。

安全性和有效性推动技术前行

病毒载体腺相关病毒(AAV)和慢病毒,以及基因编辑技术是开发治疗多种疾病(例如镰状细胞性贫血,亨廷顿氏病和某些类型的癌症)的关键工具。为了达到功效,这些疗法必须能高效且安全地将核酸递送至靶细胞。精准表征病毒载体或基因编辑蛋白与靶细胞之间的相互作用是提高治疗安全性和有效性的一种高效方法。

欢迎了解结合亲和力测定是如何帮助您开发更安全,更有效的基因疗法   观看在线讲座

病毒载体

AAV 和慢病毒被用作病毒载体,可以将修饰的基因递送至靶细胞。研究人员致力于开发出仅针对靶向特定细胞的更好的载体,同时避免触发患者的免疫反应,并且可以有效地持续进行治疗。上述目标可以通过表征分子相互作用并根据其热变性数据对病毒载体进行分析来实现。

virus

提高 CD19 CAR-T 细胞疗法的有效性

CD19 CAR-T 细胞疗法在使用鼠类 CD19 CAR 治疗 B 细胞恶性肿瘤中显示出预期的成果,但疗法可能导致某些患者产生免疫识别,并使治疗无效。这项研究试图找出人源化的 CD19 CAR 是否可以解决此问题。 MST 用于测量 CD19 与鼠源或人源化 CD19 CAR 之间的亲和力。人源化的 CD19 CAR 对人类靶标的亲和力提高了 6 倍,从而极大地改善了治疗效果:治疗性T细胞数量增加,抗肿瘤活性增强。了解更多

virus

在任何缓冲液中鉴定 AAV 血清型

AAV 的向性(决定目标细胞或组织)在 AAV 血清型之间有所不同。 AAV 衣壳的热稳定性是可用于区分血清型的一个指标。 在这项研究中,nanoDSF 技术用于在 AAV 的开发和生产过程中测量不同 AAV 衣壳的热稳定性。nanoDSF 技术使研究人员可以在许多不同的配方和存储缓冲液中快速鉴定 AAV 血清型。了解更多

在 AAV 载体开发过程中发现用于分析表征的解决方案     观看在线讲座

基因编辑技术

基因编辑技术可以通过有针对性地对体内基因组进行编辑(包括基因添加,删除和校正)来提供基因治疗。尤其是,CRISPR-Cas9 体系为治疗遗传性疾病提供了令人兴奋的新的可能性。现在,研究人员正在努力通过使用 Cas9 的变体来消除脱靶编辑或寻找可替代的递送系统来使基因编辑工具变得更安全可靠。

Gene Editing

使用其他 Cas9 变体提高基因编辑特异性

CRISPR-Cas9 基因编辑在治疗镰状细胞性贫血等疾病中显示出巨大的希望。 但是,已经报道了一些 Cas9 蛋白(例如 SpCas9)的脱靶基因编辑案例。 这项工作使用 MST 技术来研究 Cas9 的另一个变体 FnCas9 对其预期的靶标具有更高的特异性结合,并具有较低的靶标结合力。随后使用 FnCas9 成功地纠正了来自患者多能干细胞中的镰状细胞突变。 了解更多

Gene Editing

设计特异性更强的核酸输送系统

由于核酸的脱靶递送,病毒载体使用的安全性仍然会引起人们巨大的关注。为了提高靶标特异性,研究人员设计了一种基于染色质的核酸递送系统,该系统整合了对细胞表面成分具有特异性的抗体。该系统成功的关键是有效地捕获了染色质特异性抗体,并使用MST技术来量化不同抗体与染色质之间的相互作用。这使研究者能够找到最佳抗体,以构建用于 CRISPR-Cas9 基因编辑的高效的,染色质特异性的递送系统。了解更多

想查看更多基因治疗相关资料?        查看资料

遇到问题?

 技术支持

汉语日本語English

What if we could treat disease, and potentially even cure it, with a single procedure? This is the promise of gene therapy – to correct the underlying genetic cause of disease. While gene therapy has exciting potential, failures in early clinical trials – due to problems with safety and efficacy – highlighted the need to further understand the underlying science of gene therapies. Find out how NanoTemper is helping researchers to develop safer and more effective gene therapies.

Safety and efficacy lead the path forward

Viral vectors — adeno-associated virus (AAV) and lentivirus — and gene editing technologies are key tools in the development of treatments for several diseases like sickle cell anemia, Huntington’s disease, and some types of cancer. To be successful, these therapies must effectively and safely deliver nucleic acids to the target cell. Characterizing the interactions between viral vector or gene-editing proteins and the target cells is one way to tackle the challenge of improving a therapy’s safety and efficacy.

Learn how knowing binding affinity can help you develop safer and more potent gene therapies     Watch webinar

Viral vectors

AAV and lentivirus are used as viral vectors to deliver a modified gene to the target cell. Researchers are focused on developing better vectors that target only the right cells, avoid triggering the patient immune response, and effectively deliver the therapy with lasting effect. These goals can be achieved by looking at molecular interactions and profiling virus vectors based on their thermal unfolding.

virus

Increase the effectiveness of CD19 CAR-T cell therapy

CD19 CAR-T cell therapy has shown promising results in treating B-cell malignancies using murine CD19 CAR — but can lead to immune recognition in some patients and make the treatment ineffective. This study sought to find out whether humanized CD19 CAR would resolve this problem. MST was used to measure the affinity between CD19 and the murine or humanized CD19 CAR. The humanized CD19 CAR had a 6-fold greater affinity for its human target which improved the outcome of the therapy when used to treat patients — a higher number of therapeutic T cells with increased anti-tumor activity. Learn more

virus

Differentiate AAV serotypes in any buffer

AAV tropism – which determines the target cell or tissue – differs between AAV serotypes. The thermal stability of the AAV capsid is one parameter that can be used to differentiate between serotypes. In this study, nanoDSF was used to measure the thermal stability of different AAV capsids during the development and production process of AAVs. nanoDSF allowed researchers to rapidly identify AAV serotypes in many different formulation and storage buffers. Learn more

Discover solutions for analytical characterization during AAV vector development      Watch webinar

Gene editing technologies

Gene editing technologies can deliver gene therapies via targeted in vivo genome editing – including gene addition, deletion, and correction. In particular, the CRISPR-Cas9 system presents exciting new possibilities for the treatment of genetic disorders. Researchers are now working to make gene editing tools safer by eliminating off-target editing using Cas9 variants or by looking for alternative delivery systems.

Gene Editing

Improve gene editing specificity using alternative Cas9 variants

Gene editing with CRISPR-Cas9 has shown great promise in the treatment of diseases such as sickle cell anemia. However, off-target gene editing has been reported for some Cas9 proteins, like SpCas9. This study used MST to show that a different variant of Cas9, FnCas9, has a higher specificity for its intended target and low off target binding. FnCas9 was then used to successfully correct sickle cell mutations in the patient-derived pluripotent stem cells. Learn more

Gene Editing

Design a more specific nucleic acid delivery system

The use of viral vectors still raises concerns about safety due to off-target delivery of nucleic acids. To improve target specificity, the authors designed a chromatin-based nucleic acid delivery system that incorporates antibodies specific to cell surface elements. The key to the success of this system is the efficient capture of the antibody to the chromatin, and MST was used to quantify the interaction between different antibodies and the chromatin. This allowed them to find the best antibody for constructing a highly efficient and specific chromatin-based delivery system for CRISPR-Cas9 gene editing. Learn more

Want to see more gene therapy resources?       See resources

Have a question?

 Contact Specialist